The Green Knight

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.44 / 5

User rating: 2.44

Based on 106 votes and 40 reviews


  • User rating: 2.44 22.22%
  • User rating: 2.44 13.33%
  • User rating: 2.44 0.00%
  • User rating: 2.44 15.56%
  • User rating: 2.44 48.89%



Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?




Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 40 of 40

User review rating: 1 November 11, 2021

Stupid, stupid, stupid. Terrible plot, terrible acting, terrible scenes, etc. Don’t waste your time. One of the worst films I have ever seen.

User review rating: 1 September 24, 2021

Time is more valuable than anything. This movie was really crappy value. A waste of time and money.

User review rating: 2 September 18, 2021

This movie seems to have been designed for a small group of people who are familiar with the lore and/or are fairly artistic in nature. I could appreciate what was attempted but, because I'm not familiar with the lore/story, I found it very tedious with a disappointing ending. I understood the ending, but just wasn't enough to make me not regret watching. And by the way, movies tastes are subjective - people who bash people for liking or hating it are just conceded.

User review rating: 5 September 05, 2021

This is a totally weird, fascinatingly bizarre mashup of chivalry-romance, action-adventure, fantasy, and mysticism. Writer/director David Lowry has turned the ancient Sir Gewain legend into a constantly mutating grand saga that, like its source, explores big questions about how (or if) free will and choice determine the direction of a person's life. Can humans direct their own fate, and if so, what constitutes a life well lived? Dev Patel is wonderful as the lead, and the rest of the cast, including Alicia Vikander pulling double duty as the two love interests, is superb. The artful cinematography of Andrew Droz Palermo is magical. The ever-changing musical score combining riffs on medieval chants, Wagnerian splendor, contemporary minimalism, and modern rock reminds the viewer that nothing in the film, or in life, is immutable. This is sophisticated filmmaking for serious moviegoers, and one of the best films of the year to date.

User review rating: 4 September 01, 2021

At the top, this ain't an action movie. Beautiful cinematography, a great score, fantastic scenery, cool visual effects and good actor performances make this movie really nice to take in. Bit slow at times, and drags near the end. Though the actual ending was great I thought. This is a story based on an chivalric romance, which is to say a Knight's tale. Dev Patel seeks the honor of knighthood but finds the path twist in front of him. He has to reckon with his own flaws and with the consequences of his actions. It is a bit slow, it is sometimes hard to make out everything a character says. It is still in my opinion a dang good movie. The journey of the main character isn't glossy or sugar-coated. It is harsher and more twisted than that. What does it mean to be a knight and be virtuous? How does one accomplish this? Wrapped in fantasy elements is a very human story that kept me engaged. Recommend seeing this but take heed: you will find no action or excitement here. But you will find beautiful moments and shots that stick with you and a wonderful story that wraps up very well in the end. 4/5

User review rating: 1 August 22, 2021

Think…the last Jedi x10 = booooooring!

User review rating: 1 August 22, 2021

Unwatchable. Save your time and money.

User review rating: 2 August 21, 2021

If you're familiar with the Arthurian legend, you can follow this --- about 1/2 way through. The the train goes totally off the track. The 2 people in the theatre with me got up and left. Maybe I should have too. D- flick.

User review rating: 2 August 20, 2021

Someone wrote that this will go down as a "new classic." Ridiculous. This is a film where its art-house pedigree momentarily takes over. But rest assured this dull but pretty film will be forgotten soon enough. I have always found the director to look for depth and then shoehorn it in as if some pretend profundity will make people blind to the many painfully bad elements of plot and character development.

User review rating: 1 August 19, 2021

Lucky to give it 1 star....should have fired the costumer designer...almost as bad as First Knights costuming...really? a soft pastel was the best they could do????? Look to Excalibur or something for more realistic period piece clothing...i.e. armor.... And why does he use the sword to cut his bonds, and then leave it behind???? Sheer stupidity.....

User review rating: 5 August 19, 2021

The Green Knight ignores and subverts much of its source material. Forcing the film to rest on the shoulders of its lead actor. Luckily Dev Patel is up to the task. I loved most of the film but I wish they had kept to the source material.

User review rating: 1 August 15, 2021

Went there hoping there would be at least some action. Absolutely none. This is for art majors and serious film critic’s. Could hardly hear them talk, and the storyline was extremely boring. Some cool scenery but that’s about it. Wish I can spend the money.

User review rating: 4 August 14, 2021

This movie kept me in the dark until the end of the movie. You need to be patient and pay attention to the very end.

User review rating: 5 August 13, 2021

This movie is an existential question about issues such as honor v selfishness, courage v cowardice, and what do you believe is important for your life? It is slow and the pacing is not for everyone so that is a fair criticism. I believe the Dev Patel character is meant to be dislikeable because of his numerous flaws. This is due to the possibility that he might die in the course of the movie. The director uses the ambiguity of the ending to soften the possibility of his death as a talking point for each viewer's interpretation. I found it interesting and thought-provoking which was at least refreshing in the non-stop brainless flow of comic book movies over the past 5 years. The movie is asking you to think which I give it full credit for as at least its original in that aspect. Not for everyone but every 5 star movie should have some that hate it because at least it evokes a strong reaction either way.

User review rating: 1 August 13, 2021

terrible movie wasted my time.

User review rating: 5 August 11, 2021

How can anyone find this boring? Or not understand it? Just a top notch film. The final 5 minutes are excellent (as was the scene with the giants). An impressive movie with clearly developed themes involving honesty, honor, and redemption.

User review rating: 4 August 10, 2021

Idk how so many people gave this a 1 star rating. As an art student, i loved this movie. The filmography was beautiful. The score fit perfectly. All of the tense scenes kept me on edge. There isn't a whole lot of dialog so most of the movie is told via visuals and some text. There IS dialog in it but not nearly as much as a standard movie. I just think that the people who gave this movie a 1 star are either too dumb to understand plot without it being told to their face, or they have just never seen an artsy film that isn't mainstream. Not every movie has to be Avengers, where the plot is just spoon fed to the viewer. This movie is basically a story book film. Its beautiful and ethereal. If you want a change of pace and a mesmerizing experience, go see this film. There is a lot of depth, thought, and skill put into this film... you just have to look a bit closer than surface level.

User review rating: 1 August 10, 2021

What a waste of Dev Patel's talent!!! He needs to find a new agent. He's a good actor, but with his Indian heritage this role was a total miscast. I was instantly bored. There is no plot, and the scenes are dark and depressing. I wanted to like this movie but walked out after 15 minutes. To make matters worse my chair didn't recline. I asked for my money back.

User review rating: 2 August 09, 2021

Some of the scenes are beautiful, but many are dumb. I stayed through the whole thing, but 3 people left - and there were only maybe 12 of us in there. It is a half hour too long, and has very little action and much of the drama doesn't even make sense.

User review rating: 5 August 08, 2021

This is a wonderful take on an Arthurian legend. The pacing is deliberately slow and purposeful, the cinematography amazing and Dev Patel fantastic in the lead. It’s not an action film but a visual delight and a meditation on death, nature and time.

User review rating: 4 August 08, 2021

Really enjoyed this film. Beautifully shot, and a nice re-telling of an old tale which is pretty complicated to tell. Not an action film so not surprised by the negative comments on here, but if you are at all interested in the original tale, this is a nice adaptation. Not perfect but enjoyable.

User review rating: 1 August 08, 2021

can't believe I didn't ask for my money back - horrible, worst move I've seen this year - complete disaster

User review rating: 2 August 08, 2021

this movie is dumb. nice to look at. an acid trip of a movie. You have to actually care about the characters and build a plot to make you care. Dev Patel is a great actor but his talents are wasted here because you don't care what happens. I love A24 movies as well. A few, like Ghost Story are equally lame, trying too hard to be deep. This fits the bill. garbage

User review rating: 1 August 06, 2021

Slooowww. Not hard to understand. I wanted to leave several times. I kept hoping the ending would make up for it. Not even close. I don't need a lot of action to enjoy a movie. It seems like they made this movie as a joke to see if people would act like they liked this garbage. I don't see how anyone could honestly say they enjoyed this film. IMO, they just say they did so they can look like they are "deep". Worst movie I've ever paid to watch.

User review rating: 1 August 04, 2021

I'm SO tired of reading such bad reviews of this movie, but they are SO deserved. What I'm more sad about is that you can't award it negative Stars. It is a travesty of a movie. It probably sucks the life-giving oxygen from adjacent theatres in the multiplex. So sad that Dev Patel got stuck with this clunker. Yup, it deserves a -2 Stars.

User review rating: 2 August 03, 2021

Forget about a solid storyline and special effects. They do have the standard talking animal and quick clips of sex scenes to keep your interest for a couple minutes. Other than that enjoy the scenery and costumes if you don’t fall asleep.

User review rating: 1 August 03, 2021

Such a slow moving story that makes no sense. A complete waste of time and money

User review rating: 1 August 02, 2021

This movie is a complete waste of time you’re better off streaming illegally but even that would be a waste of your time

User review rating: 1 August 02, 2021

This movie didn’t need the sex senes that made you want to walk out with your grandchild. It was impossible to follow. I think the maker of the movie was on a acid trip

User review rating: 1 August 01, 2021

Most boring acid trip ever. If you like beautiful sensory art made to seem suspenseful with zero depth, logic or character and a plot a three year old could follow, this is the movie for you. Like watching Andy Warhol decide between which kind of soup to paint for two hours, or however long this waste of cinema lasted.

User review rating: 1 August 01, 2021

An incredible disappointment! What a fiasco this disjointed, confusing, and bewildering piece of cinema this is that I had the misfortune to pay to see! How this film got five stars from ANYONE is beyond me. It was slow, senseless and baffling to the point that I almost walked out. It's one saving grace was that it was indeed beautifully filmed, and the fox was a cool touch. Save your ticket price on this clunker!

User review rating: 5 August 01, 2021

A beautifully shot character study that will go down as a classic. Don't go into this expecting an action packed movie. Many people aren't familiar with the type of movies typically made by A24, and it clearly shows with lots of people's reviews. Only complaint is that some scenes drag out too long.

User review rating: 2 July 31, 2021

nice to look at captures the feel of the Middle Ages but asks alot from the audiance extremely slow a simple fable that should be a short story but excruciatingly dragged out

User review rating: 1 July 31, 2021

Worst movie I have ever seen...went with a friend to see it half way through we both left is was so dull boring to watch. 2 other people left as well before us. Any one that gives this movie 5 stars should go to an asylum he/she fit in with the other wackos.

User review rating: 5 July 31, 2021

Wonderful Christmas movie. I think I'll go see it again - one year from now. Dev Patel plays an aspiring knight who believes standing up to the legendary Green Knight's challenge will make him a hero. But he quickly learns becoming a hero is not nearly as simple or easy as he thought it would be. This is a beautifully shot, wonderfully acted movie with very deliberate pacing. This is not an action movie - there are literally no action scenes, so be aware of that going in.

User review rating: 1 July 30, 2021

Worst movie of the year.....little to no.action in the movie. I was expecting some fight scenes in the movie not constant like the moron that thinks this is the best movie ever.....also some parts of the movie makes no sense....is the knight high on drugs or what as he seems to see things that are not there...way better knights movie out there to see.

User review rating: 5 July 30, 2021

Really coooool. Great story and looks beautiful! A must see.

User review rating: 4 July 30, 2021

A good old fashioned knights tale, but a very fresh take on it. Don’t go in expecting Fast and Furious 9, but there is some great action and adventure nonetheless. People who said it was boring we’re expecting non stop explosions and sword fights with the same old story (that’s not this movie)!

User review rating: 1 July 29, 2021

Walked out half way as it was so boring

User review rating: 1 July 29, 2021

SUCKS.....slow paced, little action with some weird stuff in the mix....stay home watch the grass grow get more action that way.

Change Location